British Speedway Forum
Guest mart W

Another Way Of Rider Control

Guest mart W

I've recently started taking an interest in American Football, and I've found out that they use a system called ' the draft ' to level out team strenghs. Apparently the team with the worse record at the end of the season, the following season gets the first choice of the players moving up from the college teams, second worse gets second choice and so on up untill the champions who have last choice. This is then repeated untill all the teams are comlpete. Now I'm no expert on it but it looks a very good way of stoping a few clubs cornering the market like what happens in soccer.

It's basically a very simple system that could be adapted by Speedway . No points limits, succesfull teams could stay together and the weaker teams are helped.

Just a thought really !!

Edited by mart W

mart W

And what would happen if Carmarthen chose William Lawson who lives in Perth, Scotland ?

:blink::blink::blink::blink:

Matt W - my dad loves American Football and I often watch it, and it really does work, my team the dolphins just pick really bad all the time!

But it could work in Speedway, plus it coudl also avoid many riders being out of work.

Guest maddriver

Think Tsunami has hit the nail on the head!!

mart W

And what would happen if Carmarthen chose William Lawson who lives in Perth, Scotland ?

:blink::blink::blink::blink:

Only riders prepared to go where they are drafted should apply to be in the draft.

My old neighbour Les Collins home team for years was hardly in his backyard. He has been one of many over the years prepared to travel.

Guest mart W

It was just an idea, it would have to modified to take into account things like that, but only riders wanting to move would be drafted, or new Swedes Danes or Aussies, & Riders wanting to move up or down a leauge.

Guest dunni

it should be like football when your contract is up they shold be aloud to move freely :wink::wink: