British Speedway Forum
Racin Jason 72

No Saturday fixtures in the uk.

When was the last time there were no speedway meeting scheduled on a Saturday during the season ?? Obviously not including rain offs  

ive been attending for 30 years and I cannot remember this ever happening before.  Saturday night was the main race day for many clubs. Kings Lynn Coventry Cradley Belle Vue in the top flight.  And also many more that rode in the national league. 

I guess that’s the price of having a Grand Prix and England giving in to everybody else. 

• Like 4

Its  a crazy situation to get into , Saturday night and no speedway is  a complete waste to me , especially as we  head in to the height of summer  and the school holidays having loads of blank  dates , fans will drift away and find something else .

• Like 1

I used to remember Friday night is speedway night in Peterborough, and here we are a week from the last meeting, what looks to be a fine B/H and the website ticker saying next meeting in 14 days likes that's something to enthuse supporters. I suppose it does for the dwindling bunch that now follow the apparent low quality sustainable level of the sport, but for the long term it'll do more harm than good. I realise that's not a Saturday issue but it's on the same theme, if somewhat local.

So many Promoters, Team Managers and other staff prefer to be at the GP, wherever it may be. Riders too.

1 hour ago, waytogo28 said:

So many Promoters, Team Managers and other staff prefer to be at the GP, wherever it may be. Riders too.

and many fans.

• Like 2

wonder how many current PL teams will consider moving into the CL just to be able to run on a more favourable race night

As I have stated previously - this situation has arisen directly because of the GPs.

I may watch them - but they have sounded the death knell for British Speedway.

Many won't agree, but I believe that the damage done to British Speedway could be irreparable in the long term.