British Speedway Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Matousek

Jawa Or Gm?

Id like to know how many riders ride both gm and jawa as most ride one or other, gollobs the only 1 i can think of.

Reasons i ask is that paul cooper practiced after sundays match on both gm and jawa, both sounded garbage tbh (the new justin ef kins?). Ive read riders say they have different charateristics. :unsure:

Hmmm maybe a case of bad workmen blaming tools? They may well have different handling characteristics which suit one sort of track or another but surely the raw speed is a product of tuning, so one should not be inherently faster than the other.

Hmmm maybe a case of bad workmen blaming tools? They may well have different handling characteristics which suit one sort of track or another but surely the raw speed is a product of tuning, so one should not be inherently faster than the other.

It could be due to bad prep regards cooper as no matter what he rides he never looks quick to me. Im no expert on motors, it was just you dont usually see riders ride both.

I reckon it's more psychological than anything else. The rider feels mentally more at home on one engine so sticks to it.

I reckon it's more psychological than anything else. The rider feels mentally more at home on one engine so sticks to it.

It the same with a lot of the parts- Its like a fashion trend

It does get in your head that a certain make is better than another

an example of such is an NEB clutch is better than a Jawa - but is it????

Alot comes down to what youre used to and the feelings.

Theres also the long verses small stroke debate.

I have always ridden long jawas, and will continue to due to

1. Im used to their power curve and how they feel

2. I know their maintainance

3. I know how they feel at the start of a race and where to position on the start line

etc

Riders such as Gollob only use the Jawa at Bydgodscz because he knows exactly how it responds on that big fast track -