British Speedway Forum
Sign in to follow this  
arnieg

100 Years Ago Today

The seeds of a creation myth were sown

Some interesting discussion here:

Where did Speedway (motor cycle racing) start in the world?logo%20for%20web.JPG   Return Home or to Personalities.

Let me (the webmaster) start by saying I am far from an expert on this subject, and the last thing I want to do is start a major controversy. With Ian Hoskin’s an honorary member of our club, I am conscious of causing offence, and do not wish to do so. To refresh the readers memory, I myself have been guilty of quoting the “fact,” that Johnnie Hoskin’s invented speedway at West Maitland. For that I apologize.
Contributions below are from, John Williams,   Unknown contributors to Speedway Forum, Ian Hoskins , Ross Garrigan. and 
Nigel Bird

NSW on 23rd Feb 1923.
     My idea for writing an article about the subject started with the following correspondence that came in via our web site.
Correspondence with John Williams in Brisbane, Australia. I have abbreviated the letters to the basic discussion.
     16/01/06   John Williams--        “Here's some more anguish for the purists. (See photo left of early 1915 “midgets” in USA) This is
 image001.jpgdated 1914-18, no other info on hand but almost positive they are in USA and were taken on a dirt track”.   “I don't do any particular research, although at present I seem to have got stuck on Skirrow midgets and Jean Reville (UK), if I see something that I think is incorrect, I'll try and look into it. There's plenty of myth in speedway, for instance Johnny Hoskins "inventing " speedway etc!!.

17/01/06 (Max-editor) So who did start speedway? Johnnie Hoskins lived 12 miles from my home and his son Ian now lives in the same area and is an honorary member of our club. I have read that South Africa claim they started, (bike speedway that is), but what is your opinion?
Max
17/01/06-- J. Williams--